Rural Intelligence: The Online Magazine for Eastern New York, Western Connecticut and the Southern Berkshires
Sunday, November 19, 2017
Search Archives:
Newsletters Signup
Close it
Get The New App!

Newsletters Signup
Close it

RI Archives: Parties

View all past Party articles.

RI on Facebook    RI on Instagram       


Mahaiwe Tent



Parties & Openings

Nov. 11 - Chatham
PS21 Gala

Nov. 4 - Pittsfield
NAACP Awards Dinner

Oct. 29 - G. Barrington
Halloween At L'Atelier

[See more Parties articles]

Shaker-Style Summer Soiree

Rachel Louchen reports from New Lebanon. Shaker Museum | Mount Lebanon’s Great Stone Barn was the focal point of the annual benefit dinner, Visualizing the Museum’s Future, on Saturday, August 27.  This year’s benefit honored museum supporters Martha Clarke and Alfred Uhry, creators of the off-Broadway hit, Angel Reapers, inspired by the life of Ann Lee, founder of the Shaker movement. The evening also included a performance of Shaker songs, remarks from executive director Lacy Schutz (at left with trustee Paul Cassidy), a live auction and of course, a multi-course farm-to-table feast. But whatever was occurring during the evening, from drinks out front, hors d’oeuvre inside and dinner taking place just below, the Great Stone Barn was always in sight, providing a Shaker backdrop on a perfect late-summer night.

Albany residents Jo and George Burdeau; Steven McCarthy and Gary Delemeester, whose spouses are involved with the museum.

Trustee John Dax and Amy Butler; George Eager does woodwork for the museum, specficially restoring the windows in the barn, here with his wife, librarian Donna Eager.

The great stone barn in all its glory; Ian Bickford, husband of executive director Lacey Schutz, with Rebecca Barth.

Stephen Mcnabb and Toby Bilanow attend the gala yearly; Marita Glodt, president of the board of directors at Barrington Stage, with her husband, David Glodt.

John Lillis, whose spouse is a trustee with his niece, Taber Bailey; Craftsman Adam Nudd-Homeyer of Tappen Chairs donated a circa-1820 chair for the auction, and Anna Thompson, curator of collections and exhibitions at Columbia County Historical Society.

Vernon Evenson and The Darrow School’s Craig Wescott; Sharon Koomler, Nina Weber-Worth, Don Worth and Jerry Grant, museum director of collections and research.

Jim Panichella, Natalie Faubert, Donald Blair and Jeff Daly, chairman of the museum’s board of directors.

Enjoy this post? Share it with others.

Posted by Rachel Louchen on 08/28/16 at 12:06 PM • Permalink